June 2017 was an eventful month for us. Two Metonymy authors were honoured with major literary awards.

Congrats to Kai Cheng Thom, who received the 2017 Writers’ Trust of Canada Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers. Kai Cheng was presented with the award at a ceremony on June 4 in Vancouver, BC

Less than two weeks later, jia qing wilson-yang’s Small Beauty won the 2017 Lambda Literary Prize for Transgender Fiction. Metonymy was well-represented in the category (there were three finalists in total, with Kai Cheng’s Fierce Femmes and Notorious Liars also nominated alongside If I Was Your Girl, by Meredith Russo).


Small Beauty by jia qing wilson-yang was awarded an Honour of Distinction from the Writers’ Trust of Canada Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBT Emerging Writers.


Kate Beaton wins a Doug Wright Award!
June 13, 2012 – Cartoonist Kate Beaton, known for her smart, witty comics that shine an irreverent, contemporary light on historical and literary figures, has won a Doug Wright Award for Canadian cartooning. Read more
Seth wins Toronto International Festival of Authors’ Harbourfront Festival Prize!
January 9, 2012 – On October 29, the Toronto International Festival of Authors awarded its $10,000 Harbourfront Festival Prize to Canadian cartoonist Seth for having “substantially contributed to the state of literature and books in Canada.” After starting his comic series Palookaville in the early ’90s, many of Seth’s stories have since been collected and published as novels. He also illustrates for various magazines (such as The New Yorker and The Walrus) and is in the process of designing the packaging of a 25-book collection of Charles Schulz’s Peanuts strips. Read more